Michael Sukkar MP

Federal Member for Deakin
image description

About Deakin

Deakin is an outer metropolitan division in Melbourne’s eastern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 70 sq km, from Blackburn in the west to Croydon in the east.

The main suburbs include Bayswater North (part), Blackburn, Blackburn North, Croydon (part), Croydon South (part), Forest Hill (part), Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North (part), Vermont and Vermont South.

The area is mainly residential with some light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.

The electorate was named after Alfred Deakin (1856–1919), who was leader of the movement for Australian Federation and served as Prime Minister three times.

Deakin was first proclaimed in 1936 and held its first election in 1937.

Deakin Map


Sukkar, M (LP) 2013–

Symon, M (ALP) 2007–2013

Barresi, P (LP) 1996–2007

Aldred, K J (LP) 1990–1996

Beale, J H (LP) 1984–1990

Saunderson, J (ALP) 1983–1984

Jarman, A W (LP) 1966–1983

Davis, F J (LP) 1949–1966

Hutchinson, W J (LP) 1937–1949


Source: http://www.aec.gov.au/profiles/vic/deakin.htm