Michael Sukkar MP

Federal Member for Deakin
Shadow Minister for Social Services
Shadow Minister for the NDIS
Shadow Minister for Housing
Shadow Minister for Homelessness
image description

2022 Deakin Community Awards

The 2022 Deakin Community Awards was a very special evening where more than 500 members of our community came together to recognise individuals and community groups who selflessly serve others.

In all, we recognised 59 individuals and 17 group award winners who were all richly deserving of this recognition.

A special congratulations goes to our overall category winners:

✅ Youth – Jackson Smith and Alyssa Solidaga

✅ Open – Margaret Handte

✅ Seniors – Cynthia Scott

✅ Group – Communities of Wellbeing

Margaret Handte received the overall Deakin Community Award for her decades of service to our community through the Ringwood RSL, the Royal Australian Engineers and Australian Air Force Cadets.

I also want to thank the Australian Children’s Choir who started the evening with a stunning performance, Yarra Valley Grammar for hosting and Cr Kylie Spears for her outstanding effort as MC again this year.

Congratulations again to all of our award winners, and those who nominated and supported such a wonderful group of people for recognition this year.