Michael Sukkar MP

Federal Member for Deakin
Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Housing
Minister for Homelessness, Social and Community Housing
image description

Deakin young residents encouraged to apply for National Youth Awards

Federal Member for Deakin, Michael Sukkar, is encouraging young people living in Deakin to apply for the 2014 National Youth Awards.

Nominations have opened for the annual awards – part of National Youth Week – that recognise the achievements of Australia’s young people, aged 12 to 25 years.

“Our young people make a huge contribution to the community and these awards present an opportunity to celebrate them,” Mr Sukkar said.

“I have had the pleasure of meeting many teenagers and young adults in Deakin who are chasing their dreams and achieving in all aspects of life.

“I really encourage young Australians in the electorate to put their hands up and tell us about the special contributions they’re making by applying for the National Youth Awards.”

There are seven award categories—six of which recognise individuals. The other will celebrate positive news reporting about young people in Australia.

The award categories are:
• Health and Wellbeing
• Creating Pathways
• Community Leadership
• Safer Communities
• Personal Courage
• Cultural Understanding, and
• The Positive Media Award.

The award categories and prizes were agreed upon through consultation with young people, while the selection panel is also made up exclusively of young Australians.

Each of the six individual category winners will receive $2,000, a trophy and a certificate, while the winner of the Positive Media Award will receive a trophy and certificate.

The awards are for young people aged from 12 to 25 (with the exception of the Positive Media Award) and applicants can be self-nominated or nominated by someone else.

Applications close on 8 January 2014. More information is available at www.youthweek.com/nya.


Media contact: Kate Bruce-Rosser on 9874 1711 or 0403 499 407.